Who we are

The Norwegian Marine University Consortium is an institutional agreement among 12 academic institutions with extensive marine and maritime profiles.

  • NMU is Norway’s representative of the higher education sector to the European Marine Board (EMB), and the Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR), and facilitates the Norwegian participation in processes initiated and led by EMB and SCOR.
  • NMU promotes cooperation in marine and maritime research, education and infrastructure among its members.
  • NMU contributes to the discussions on science policy regarding marine and maritime issues to national and international ministries and organizations.
  • Through joint research initiatives, NMU will help advance marine and maritime research and innovation and contribute to an exchange of knowledge and resources.


Governed by a board comprising of representatives from each of its member institutions, NMU’s strategic decisions are led by the Steering Committee, which includes permanent members from UiO, UiB, NTNU, and UiT, along with two rotating members currently from USN and UiS.

UiB consistently holds either the chair or vice-chair position due to their role as hosts for the NMU secretariat.
The chairperson and rotating members serve two-year terms, with the possibility of re-election for one subsequent term.
The committee meets regularly with the administrative coordinator.

Current Steering Committee Members (2024 – 2026)

  • UiO: Nils Christian Stenseth, Professor, NMU Chair (Second Term)
  • UiB: Øyvind Fiksen, Marine Dean, NMU Vice-Chair
  • NTNU: Bjørn Egil Asbjørnslett, Professor, Director NTNU Ocean and Coast
  • UiT: Jørgen Berge, Dean, Faculty of Biosciences, Fisheries and Economics
  • USN: Mette Lene Falck-Pedersen, Vice Dean,
    Faculty of Technology, Natural Sciences and Maritime Sciences (First Term)
  • UiS: Muk Chen Ong, Professor of Marine Technology and Marine Operations
    (First Term)


Click here to learn more about NMU’s members.

Trykk her for norsk versjon.